Back to start Conversion of the Voltcraft SPS24-24W-A to a LiFePo4 battery charger

Position of the voltage jumper I needed a charger for a LiFePo4 battery with 13.2V rated voltage. It should have a wide range entrance and a Europlug, so that I can use it as much as possible outside Germany.
 
The batteries I use all have an internal Battery Management System (BMS) and therefore only the usual 2 terminals. So I was looking for a charger that doesn't require a balancer connection.
 
Since no suitable charger was available, I converted a plug-in power supply Voltcraft SPS24-24W-A. It was available from Conrad Electronic (order no. 513003, 23.99 €). The technical data are:
- Operating voltage: 100 bis 240 V, Europlug
- Output voltage: adjustable via 7 voltage jumper from 9 to 24 V
- Output current: up to 1 A (at 24 V output voltage?)
- Output power: 24 W
- Dimensions: 51 × 73 × 98 mm
- Weight: 195 g
 
Voltage jumper Different resistors are included in the original voltage jumpers (1). However, a 2-pin strip (2) also fits into the lateral opening of the plug-in power supply, see above. It is therefore relatively easy to build yourself jumpers (3) for other voltages.
 
For a LiFePo4 battery with a rated voltage of 13.2 V, the charge limit voltage is 14.4 V. In order to achieve this voltage, the resistance of the voltage jumper must be 4.55 kΩ. This value can be realized by the parallel connection two resistors with 9.1 kΩ each. Alternatively, 4.7 kΩ and 150 kΩ can also be used. The 3.1 mm long SMD resistors of size 1206 fit exactly to the pins of the connector strip (3), which have a distance of 2.54 mm.
 
The plug-in power supply regulates the voltage down when the output current exceeds 1 A - according to the operating manual. Conversely, the maximum charging current may therefore be greater than the output current specified by the manufacturer. When used as a charger, the plug-in power supply is not overloaded. It only needs to apply power of the differential voltage between 14.4 V and the voltage at the terminals of the battery multiplied with the current as heat. For example, a battery discharged to 10 V has a charge current of 2.33 A. This results in a power of
 
Heat → P = (14.4 V - 10 V) · 2.33 A = 10,25 W
 
This value can emitted by the power supply without any problems as heat. The converted power supply charges the battery with
 
Battery → P = 10 V · 2.33 A = 23.3 W
 
This value is just below the 24 W indicated in the data sheet. When the charge limit voltage of 14.4 V was reached, the charging current was reduced to almost 0 A, because then the driving potential difference is missing.

Zurück auf Start Umbau des Voltcraft SPS24-24W-A zum Ladegerät für LiFePo4-Akkus

Position der Steckbrücke Ich benötigte ein Ladegerät für einen LiFePo4-Akku mit 13,2 V Nennspannung. Es sollte einen Weitbereichseingang und einen Eurostecker besitzen, damit ich es auch außerhalb Deutschlands möglichst überall nutzen kann.
 
Die Akkus, die ich verwende, besitzen alle ein internes Battery Management System (BMS) und demzufolge nur die üblichen 2 Klemmen. Daher suchte ich ein Ladegerät, das keinen Balanceranschluss erfordert.
 
Da kein passendes Ladegerät erhältlich war, habe ich ein Steckernetzteil Voltcraft SPS24-24W-A umgebaut. Es war bei Conrad Electronic (Bestell-Nr. 513003, 23,99 €) erhältlich. Die technischen Daten sind:
- Betriebsspannung: 100 bis 240 V, Eurostecker
- Ausgangsspannungen: über 7 Steckbrücken auf 9 bis 24 V einstellbar
- Ausgangsstrom: maximal 1 A (bei 24 V Ausgangsspannung?)
- Ausgangsleistung: 24 W
- Abmessungen: 51 × 73 × 98 mm
- Masse: 195 g
 
Steckbrücken In den Original-Steckbrücken (1) sind unterschiedlich Widerstände enthalten. Doch eine 2-polige Stiftleiste (2) passt ebenfalls in die seitliche Öffnung des Steckernetzteils, siehe oben. Es lassen sich daher relativ einfach Steckbrücken (3) für andere Spannungen selbst bauen.
 
Bei einem LiFePo4-Akku mit 13,2 V Nennspannung liegt die Ladeschlussspannung bei 14,4 V. Um diese Spannung zu erreichen, muss der Widerstand der Steckbrücke 4,55 kΩ betragen. Dieser Wert lässt sich durch die Parallelschaltung von 2 Widerstände mit je 9,1 kΩ realisieren. Alternativ sind auch 4,7 kΩ und 150 kΩ verwendbar. Die 3,1 mm langen SMD-Widerstände der Baugröße 1206 passen genau an die Stifte der Steckerleiste (3), die einen Abstand von 2,54 mm haben.
 
Das Steckernetzteil regelt die Spannung herunter, wenn der Ausgangsstrom 1 A übersteigt - so die Bedienungsanleitung. Im Umkehrschluss kann der maximale Ladestrom daher größer als der vom Hersteller angegebene Ausgangsstrom sein. Beim Einsatz als Ladegerät wird das Steckernetzteil trotzdem nicht überlastet. Es muss nur die Leistung aus der Differentzspannung zwischen 14,4 V und der Spannung an den Klemmen des Akkus sowie dem fließenden Strom in Wärme umsetzen. Bei einem auf 10 V entladenen Akku fließen beispielsweise 2,33 A. Das ergibt eine Leistung von
 
Wärme → P = (14,4 V - 10 V) · 2,33 A = 10,25 W
 
Diesen Wert kann das Netzteil ohne Probleme im Wärme umsetzen. Das umgebaute Netzteil lädt den Akku mit
 
Akku → P = 10 V · 2,33 A = 23,3 W
 
Diese Wert liegt knapp unter den im Datenblatt angegebenen 24 W. Beim Erreichen der Ladeschlussspannung von 14,4 V hat sich der Ladestrom auf fast 0 A verringert, da dann die antreibende Potenzialdifferenz fehlt.