Zurück auf Start Calculation of a multiband antenna

Wire antennas are probably the first choice for portable use on the shortwave amateur radio bands. I will show you on this webpage how to calculate a multiband antenna tailored for several bands. The starting point is a doublet antenna, because it consists of 2 radiator halves and a two-wire cable. Since these antennas are not resonant, they require an antenna tuner and a balun to adapt the asymmetrical transceiver output to the symmetric feedline.
 
I wanted to build an antenna that could be used as universal as possible. It should be used both with a feedline, for example, as an inverted vee and without a feedline as a vertical. And I just wanted to build them for a few amateur radio bands and only make them as long as necessary.
 
If the length of the antenna wire and the feedline on a band is an integer multiple of 0.5, a very high impedance occurs at the base. And this high impedance usually can not adjust the antenna tuner. However, since operation is desired on several bands, the search for lengths for the antenna wire and for the feedline begins, where only moderate foot point impedances occur on all bands.
 
Suitable connection points
 
Karl H. Hille, DL1VU, came up with the idea of calculate the appropriate location for the connection point of the feedline in the book "Windom- und Stromsummen-Antennen" [1]. In it, he calculates the optimal point on the resonant antenna wire of a Windom antenna. But the method he used can also be applied to one half of a doublet antenna. Because there is also a high-impedance at one end and a point with moderate impedance is sought.
 
However, the algorithm for calculating Windom and current sum antennas has a peculiarity that leads to errors if not observed. When determining suitable contact points, the currents flowing at a certain point of the antenna of all bands are added. This creates the characteristic "mountain range" as in the picture below. In principle, only the summits (maxima) may be considered - side summits are not usable.
 
The making of the product is more meaningful. However, for the product, the result is low even if the value on a radio band is low.
 
Current sum and current product for 160 until 10 m
 
The picture above shows the current sum (red) and the current product (blue) on a 9-band antenna for 160 to 10 m to 300 m in length. The maxima of the sum and the product are roughly in identical places. But the usable maxima are more recognizable in the product.
 
The following form outputs the maxima up to a distance of 300 m from the high-impemature end of the wire with with values greater than 0.1. Up to 9 bands and frequencies can be entered.
 

MHz

MHz

MHz

MHz

MHz

MHz

MHz

MHz

MHz

 

 


I was looking for an antenna that could be used for the CW transceiver Elecraft K1. These transceiver is designed only for the 40-, 30-, 20- and 17-m-band, the antenna must also be sized only for these 4 bands. The first 4 maxima are 5.51 m, 9.43 m, 12.58 m und 18.58 m. The values in brackets indicate the amount of the current product.
 
Select maxima
 
Doublet From the maxima, the electrical lengths of the antenna wire and the feedline can be calculated. Since several maximas are always output, a maximum can be used to calculate the antenna wire length and the difference up to the next maximum for the calculation of the feedline. The maxima do not have to be the first and the second. It is also the second maximum for determining the length of the antenna wire and the difference up to the fourth maximum for the length of the feedline usable. The choice depends solely on the installation possibilities (mast height, clamping points) of the antenna. I chose from the calculated maxima 5.51 m and 12.58 m.
 

m (minor value)

m (major value)

 

 

 

m (= M1)

m (= M2 - M1)

m (= lSE · VFS)

m (= lLE · VFL)


The maximium M1 first reached from the end point of the wire is the electrically length lSE of the antenna wire, here 5.51 m. The difference from here 7.07 m to the next selected maximum M2 is the electrical length lLE of the two-wire feedline. Now calculate the mechanically lengths of the antenna wire lSM and the length of the two-wire feedline lLM from the electrically lengths taking into account the velocity factors. The antenna wires I use have a velocity factor of VFS = 0.98, the two-wire feedline has a velocity factor of VFL = 0.80 according to the manufacturer.
Thus, in the example, the lengths of the two halves of the doublet antenna resulted in 5.51 m (together 11.02 m) and the length of the two-wire feedline 5.66 m.
 
Using 2 maxima has the desired positive side effect. Since the two antenna wire halves each have low impedances, the radiator halves can be connected directly to the antenna tuner even without a feedline. If a two-wire feedline is required, the selected length together with the antenna wire also has a low impedance.
 
Control
 
All that remains is whether the lengths determined in this way also result in the expected low impedances on the selected bands. The electrically length of the antenna wire halves (S) and the electrical length of the construction connected by the antenna and the feedline (S+Z) shall not be multiples of 0.5 λ. In the final step, therefore, the determined lengths are checked and the corresponding wavelengths are output. The frequencies as well as the lengths of the antenna wire halves and two-wire feedline are from the two previous calculations.
 

m with VF =

m with VF =

 

S =λ, S+Z=λ 

S =λ, S+Z=λ 

S =λ, S+Z=λ 

S =λ, S+Z=λ 

S =λ, S+Z=λ 

S =λ, S+Z=λ 

S =λ, S+Z=λ 

S =λ, S+Z=λ 

S =λ, S+Z=λ 


Opportunities and limits
 
With the calculations shown here, only usable antenna wire lengths and feedline lengths can be determined. Inferences about the radiation pattern and thus the effectiveness of the antennas are not possible. In addition, the foot-point impedance will always vary somewhat according to the height of the construction and the existing buildings around. But these changes should be able to compensate the already necessary antenna tuner.
 
Literature:
[1] Karl H. Hille, DL1VU: Windom- und Stromsummen-Antennen. Theuberger Verlag, Berlin 2000; Box 73, Order-no. X-9141

Zurück auf Start Berechnung einer Mehrbandantenne

Drahtantennen sind für den Portabeleinsatz auf den Kurzwellenbereich wohl die erste Wahl. Ich zeige Ihnen auf dieser Webseite, wie sich eine für mehrere Bänder maßgeschneiderte Mehrbandantenne berechnen lässt. Ausgangspunkt ist eine Doublet-Antennen, denn sie besteht aus 2 Strahlerhälften und einer Zweidrahtleitung. Da diese Antennen nicht resonant sind, erfordern sie einen Antennentuner und einen Balun zur Anpassung des unsymmetrischen Transceiver-Ausgangs an die symmetrische Speiseleitung.
 
Ich wollte eine möglichst universell einsetzbare Antenne bauen. Sie sollte sowohl mit Zuleitung zum Beispiel als Inverted-Vee als auch ohne Zuleitung als Vertikal nutzen sein. Und ich wollte sie nur für einige Bänder bauen und nur so lang wie erforderlich machen.
 
Wenn die Länge von Strahler und Leitung auf einem Band ein ganzzahliges Vielfache von 0,5 λ beträgt, tritt am Fußpunkt eine sehr hohe Impedanz auf. Und die kann in der Regel der Antennentuner nicht anpassen. Doch da der Betrieb auf mehreren Bändern gewünscht ist, beginnt die Suche nach Längen für den Strahler und für die Leitung, bei der auf allen Bändern nur moderate Fußpunktimpedanzen auftreten.
 
Geeignete Anschaltpunkte
 
Auf die Idee, die geeignete Stelle zum Anschalten der Speiseleitung berechnen zu lassen, kam bereits Karl H. Hille, DL1VU, im Buch "Windom- und Stromsummen-Antennen" [1]. Darin berechnet er den optimalen Punkt auf dem resonanten Antennendraht einer Windom-Antenne. Doch das von ihm genutzte Verfahren lässt sich auch auf eine Hälfte einer Doublet-Antenne anwenden. Es ist ja ebenfalls ein hochohmiges Ende vorhanden und es ist ein Punkt mit moderater Impedanz gesucht.
 
Der Algorithmus zur Berechnung von Windom- und Stromsummen-Antennen hat jedoch eine Eigenart, die bei Nichtbeachtung zu Fehlern führt. Bei der Ermittlung geeigneter Anschaltpunkte werden die an einer bestimmten Stelle der Antenne fließenden Ströme aller Bänder addiert. Dadurch entsteht das charakteristische "Gebirge" wie im Bild unten. Prinzipbedingt dürfen nur die Gipfel (Maxima) in Betracht gezogen werden - Nebengipfel sind nicht verwendbar.
 
Aussagekräftiger ist das Bilden des Produkts. Beim Produkt ist das Ergebnis jedoch auch dann niedrig, wenn der Wert auf einem Band niedrig ist.
 
Stromsumme und -produkt für 160 bis 10 m
 
Das Bild oben zeigt die Stromsumme (rot) und das Stromprodukt (blau) auf einer 9-Band-Antenne für 160 bis 10 m bis 300 m Länge. Die Maxima der Summe und des Produkts sind in etwa an identischen Stellen. Doch die nutzbaren Maxima sind beim Produkt besser erkennbar.
 
Das nachfolgende Formular gibt die Maxima bis zu einer Entfernung von 300 m vom hochohmigen Ende des Drahts aus, deren Werte über 0,1 liegen. Es lassen sich bis zu 9 Bänder und Frequenzen eintragen.
 

MHz

MHz

MHz

MHz

MHz

MHz

MHz

MHz

MHz

 

 


Ich war auf der Suche nach einer für den CW-Transceiver Elecraft K1 nutzbaren Antenne. Das der Transceiver nur für das 40-, 30-, 20- und 17-m-Band ausgelegt, muss die Antenne auch nur für diese 4 Bänder bemessen sein. Die ersten 4 Maxima sind 5,51 m, 9,43 m, 12,58 m und 18,58 m. Die Werte in Klammern geben jeweils die Höhe des Stromprodukts an.
 
Maxima auswählen
 
Doublet Aus den Maxima lassen sich die elektrischen Längen des Antennendrahts und der Zuleitung berechnen. Da immer mehrere Maxima ausgegeben werde, lässt sich ein Maximum zur Berechnung des Antennendrahts und die Differenz bis zum nächsten Maximum zur Berechnung der Zuleitung nutzen. Die Maxima müssen nicht das erste und das zweite sein. Es ist zum Beispiel auch das zweite Maximum für die Ermittlung der Länge des Antennendrahts und die Differenz bis zum vierten Maximum für die Länge der Speiseleitung nutzbar. Die Wahl richtet sich einzig nach den Aufbaumöglichkeiten (Masthöhe, Abspannpunkte) der Antenne. Ich wählte aus den errechneten Maxima 5,51 m und 12,58 m aus.
 

m (kleinerer Wert)

m (größerer Wert)

 

 

 

m (= M1)

m (= M2 - M1)

m (= lSE · VFS)

m (= lLE · VFL)


Das vom Endpunkt des Drahts zuerst erreichte Maximium M1 ist die elektrische Länge lSE des Strahlers, hier 5,51 m. Die Differenz von hier 7,07 m bis zum nächsten gewählten Maximum M2 ist die elektrische Länge lLE der Zweidrahtleitung. Nun aus den elektrischen Längen unter Berücksichtigung der Verkürzungsfaktoren die mechanischen Längen des Strahlers lSM und der Zweidrahtleitung lLM berechnen. Die von mir verwendeten Drähte besitzen einen Verkürzungsfaktor von VFS = 0,98, die Zweidrahtleitung hat laut Hersteller einen Verkürzungsfaktor von VFL = 0,80.
So ergaben sich im Beispiel als Längen der beiden Hälften der Doublet-Antenne jeweils 5,51 m (zusammen 11,02 m) und als Länge der Zweidrahtleitung 5,66 m.
 
Das Verwenden von 2 Maxima bringt den gewollten positiven Nebeneffekt mit sich. Da die beiden Strahlerhälften jeweils selbst auch niedrige Impedanzen besitzen, lassen sich die Strahlerhälften auch ohne Zuleitung direkt an den Antennentuner anschließen. Wenn doch eine Zweidrahtleitung erforderlich sein sollte, so hat die gewählte Länge zusammen mit dem Strahler ebenfalls eine niedrige Impedanz.
 
Kontrolle
 
Bleibt nur noch die Frage, ob die so ermittelten Längen auch die erhofften niedrigen Impedanzen auf den ausgewählten Bändern ergeben. Die elektrische Länge der Strahlerhälften (S) und die elektrische Länge der aus Strahler und Zweidrahtleitung (S+Z) zusammengeschalteten Konstruktion dürfen keine Vielfache von 0,5 λ betragen. Im abschließenden Schritt werden daher die ermittelten Längen kontrolliert und die entsprechenden Wellenlängen ausgegeben. Die Frequenzen sowie die Längen der Strahlerhälften und Zweidrahtleitung stammen aus den beiden vorherigen Berechnungen.
 

m bei VF =

m bei VF =

 

S =λ, S+Z=λ 

S =λ, S+Z=λ 

S =λ, S+Z=λ 

S =λ, S+Z=λ 

S =λ, S+Z=λ 

S =λ, S+Z=λ 

S =λ, S+Z=λ 

S =λ, S+Z=λ 

S =λ, S+Z=λ 


Möglichkeiten und Grenzen
 
Mit den hier dargestellten Berechnungen lassen sich lediglich nutzbare Strahler- und Speiseleitungslängen ermitteln. Rückschlüsse auf die Abstrahlung und somit die Wirksamkeit der Antennen sind nicht möglich. Außerdem wird die Fußpunktimpedanz entsprechend der Aufbauhöhe und der vorhandenen Bebauung immer etwas variieren. Doch diese Änderungen sollte der ohnehin notwendige Antennentuner ausgleichen können.
 
Literatur:
[1] Karl H. Hille, DL1VU: Windom- und Stromsummen-Antennen. Theuberger Verlag, Berlin 2000; Box 73, Artikel X-9141